Skip to Main Content

AHLA Announces the Election of New Association Leaders

  • April, 12, 2023

Washington, D.C. - The AHLA Board of Directors is pleased to announce the election and appointment of an outstanding slate of new Association leaders.  

“I have had the incredible honor and privilege to work with each of these newly appointed leaders for many years on Association projects and initiatives,” said Thomas N. Shorter, President of the American Health Law Association. “It was not an easy decision to make as the caliber of candidates have all made significant contributions to the Association, and we thank all those who expressed interest in serving our community. On behalf of the AHLA Board of Directors, we are delighted to welcome our newest class of AHLA leaders and look forward to seeing the impact they will have on the Association and the health law profession.”  

These newly appointed leaders will assume office after the Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA on July 1, 2023. 

President-Elect Delegate  

Mark S. Kopson, Plunkett Cooney, Bloomfield Hills, MI  

Mark serves on the AHLA Board of Directors and is the Chair of the Education Committee. He currently works as the Principal and Health Care Industry Group Leader for Plunkett Cooney.  He credits his academic and vocational success to AHLA members who helped him find the resources he needed to become a health law leader and desires to spend the rest of his career paying it forward by teaching, mentoring, and providing expert advice and leadership to all health law professionals.  

Board of Directors Elected to a First Term  

Jennifer Csik Hutchens, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP, Charlotte, NC 
Jennifer serves as the Global Head of Health Care at Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner where she focuses on strategic, operations, and compliance as well as transactional and administrative health law. She currently serves as a member of AHLA’s Fundamentals of Health Law program planning committee and previously served as a member of the Development and Advancement Council, Nominating Committee, and  Ad Hoc Governance Committee. She also was a  Chair and Vice Chair of the Young Professionals Council, and served as the Young Professional Delegate to the Board. Jennifer is a strong contributor to AHLA publications, has spoken at many in-person programs, and is a supporter of AHLA’s educational mission.  

Michael E. Paulhus, King & Spaulding, Atlanta, GA  

Mike is a litigation and investigations Partner at King & Spalding LLP where he focuses on health care fraud and abuse defense and supporting clients with compliance efforts. He is a thought leader in the area of health care fraud defense and serves as an adjunct faculty member at Georgia State University School of Law. Mike joined AHLA in June 2006 and enjoys being part of a community that has exceptional collegiality. He is  currently Chair of the Fundamentals of Health Law program planning committee, was a speaker/faculty member of the Academic Medical Centers and Teaching Hospitals Institute in 2023 and has been a frequent speaker and author for many AHLA resources and programs.  


Matthew E. Wetzel, Goodwin Procter LLP, Washington, DC  
Matt is a Partner at Goodwin Procter LLP. He has extensive in-house experience in both the multinational setting and the start-up environment and counsels a variety of health care and life sciences organizations on health care legal and regulatory matters.  He joined AHLA in 2005 and served as a member of the Diversity & Inclusion Council and later the Quality Council. He serves as the Fraud and Abuse Practice Group Chair and has been an author for several AHLA publications and podcasts.  


Board of Directors Elected to a Second Term  

  • Saralisa C. Brau, McKesson Corporation, Washington, DC  

  • Ari J. Markenson, Venable LLP, New York, NY 

  • Suzanne J. Scrutton, Vorys Sater Seymour and Pease LLP, Columbus, OH 

At-Large Nominating Committee Members  

  • Faisal A. Khan, Modivcare Home, Cleveland, OH 

  • Suzanne J. Scrutton, Vorys Sater Seymour and Pease, Columbus, OH 

Fellows Class 

  • Timothy B. Adelman, Luminis Health, Annapolis, MD 

  • Alan D. Bloom, Manhattan Beach, CA 

  • Mark A. Bonanno, Oregon Medical Association, Portland, OR 

  • Marilyn Lamar, Liss & Lamar PC, Oak Brook, IL 

  • Kim Harvey Looney, K&L Gates, Nashville, TN 

  • Claire F. Miley, Nashville, TN 

  • Robert R. Niccolini, Ogletree Deakins, Washington, DC  

  • Claire M. Turcotte, Premier Health, Dayton, OH  

A Special Thank You 

AHLA thanks the following members of the Nominating Committee for their time, energy, and dedication to the nominating process: 

  • Thomas N. Shorter, Chair  

  • Robert A. Gerberry 

  • S. Craig Holden 

  • Albert D. “Chip” Hutzler 

  • Patricia A. Markus 

  • Cynthia Y. Reisz 

  • Asha S. Scielzo 

And to AHLA's President-Elect, Patricia A. Markus, for her tireless work on leadership appointments for fiscal year 2024.