Skip to Main Content

AHLA Announces the Election of New Association Leaders

  • May, 01, 2024

Washington, D.C. - The AHLA Board of Directors is pleased to announce the election and appointment of an outstanding slate of new Association leaders.   

“I have had the immense honor of associating with these newly appointed leaders at Association projects and initiatives,” stated Patricia A. Markus, President of the American Health Law Association. “These individuals have been devoted leaders and volunteers of the Association for many years, offering mentorship and innovative insight to every member they encounter. On behalf of the AHLA Board of Directors, we are delighted to welcome our newest class of AHLA leaders to foster the continued growth and engagement of a diverse and inclusive health law community, an important value of AHLA’s mission.” 

These newly appointed leaders will assume office after the Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. on July 1, 2024.  

President-Elect Designate    

Christine “Chris” L. White, Northwell Health, New Hyde Park, NY   

Chris served on the AHLA Board of Directors from 2017 to 2023, holding positions such as Chair of the Governance Committee and as the Association’s Secretary. She currently serves as Vice President and Deputy General Counsel of the Office of Legal Affairs at Northwell Health and is recognized for, among other things, her strategic counseling and expertise in antitrust law and governance matters. As a long-standing AHLA member, Chris has made important contributions, including through leadership and membership on various committees and councils such as Finance, Governance, Membership-IDEA, and Practice Groups, and co-authoring the publication "Antitrust and Health Care: A Comprehensive Guide" which was honored with the FTC Award for Outstanding Scholarship in 2013.  Chris also serves as a lecturer-in-law at Columbia Law School and a member of several strategic advisory boards. 

Board of Directors Elected to a Five-Year Term   

Gerald “Jud” E. DeLoss, Illinois Association for Behavioral Health, Springfield, IL  

Jud has been a member of the Association's Quality Council and has chaired the Behavioral Health Task Force. Jud is the Chief Executive Officer for his organization and actively serves as a behavioral health advocate in the health law community. He actively supports AHLA's educational initiatives and has served as chair of the Health Information and Technology Practice Group.  

Laura F. Laemmle-Weidenfeld, Jones Day, Washington. D.C.   

Laura is a seasoned legal professional with extensive experience in health law, currently serving as a partner at her firm. She has contributed significantly to AHLA, serving on various committees and boards, including chair of the Fraud and Abuse Practice Group, the Fraud and Compliance Forum program planning committee and the Journal of Health & Life Sciences Law Editorial Board. She continues to support AHLA's educational mission through her speaking engagements, publications, and active involvement in the association's programs.  

Karen R. Palmersheim, Cigna Healthcare, Pasadena, CA  

Karen is an experienced health plans attorney serving as senior managing counsel at her organization. As an AHLA leader and supporter, she has served on the Health Plans Law and Compliance Institute program planning committee and as vice chair of the Payers Plans and Managed Care (PPMC) Practice Group. Karen continues to contribute to AHLA's initiatives and shares her knowledge through speaking engagements at AHLA's in-person programs. 

Board of Directors Elected to a Second Term   

  • Carol Carden 

  • Tizgel K.S. High 

  • Lisa Ohrin Wilson 

Early Career Professional Board Delegate 

  • Avery Schumacher 

At-Large Nominating Committee Members   

A Special Thank You  

AHLA thanks the following members of the Nominating Committee for their time, energy, and dedication to the nominating process:  

  • Patricia A. Markus (Chair) 

  • Faisal A. Khan 

  • Mark S. Kopson 

  • Cynthia Y. Reisz  

  • Asha B. Scielzo  

  • Suzanne J. Scrutton 

  • Thomas N. Shorter 

And to AHLA's President-Elect, Asha B. Scielzo, for her tireless work on leadership appointments for fiscal year 2025.  

To see a full list of AHLA’s newly appointed leaders, visit AHLA’s website.  


For press inquiries or more information, please contact [email protected].