Skip to Main Content

AHLA Announces FY2023 Election Results

  • May, 04, 2022

AHLA is pleased to announce that the Board of Directors has elected and appointed an outstanding slate of new leaders for the Association. 

“I am amazed by the extraordinary caliber of our slate of candidates, making the selection process a difficult one,” comments Cynthia Y. Reisz, President of the American Health Law Association, and member of Bass Berry & Sims, “We were impressed and appreciative of all those who expressed interest in serving our Association and welcome our newest class of AHLA leaders. Volunteers at every level allow AHLA to educate and connect our members and the broader health law community.” 

New leaders will assume office on July 1, 2022. 

President-Elect Delegate 

Asha B. Scielzo, Director, Health Law & Policy Program at American University Washington College of Law 
Ms. Scielzo joined AHLA’s Board of Directors in 2016 and currently serves as the Chair of the Education Board Committee. She previously has served as Chair for four years on the Fundamentals of Health Law program planning committee from 2013-2017, and as a member from 2009-2013. She also served as Co-Chair of the Diversity+Inclusion Council from 2016-2018.  

Board of Directors Elected to a First Term 

Ritu K. Cooper, Hall, Render, Killian, Heath & Lyman, P.C., Washington, DC
Ms. Cooper is a frequent speaker at AHLA’s in-person programs and is a contributor to the Association’s publications. She is the Chair of the Hospitals and Health Systems Practice Group and has previously served as Vice Chair. She also served on the Nominating Committee last year.

Emily B. Grey, Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, Baton Rouge, LA 
Ms. Grey is a frequent contributing author and speaker at AHLA’s webinars and in-person programs. She is on the Annual Meeting program planning committee and is Co-Chair of the Online Dispute Resolution Working Group. She has served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Hospitals and Health Systems Practice Group, as a member on the Health Law Curriculum Task Force, and on the Mentoring Committee.

Julie E. Kass, Walmart Health, Washington, DC 
Ms. Kass is a frequent contributing author and speaker at AHLA’s webinars and in-person programs. She is currently serving as the Co-Chair of the Physicians and Hospitals Law Institute program planning committee. She also served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Physicians Organization Practice Group, as a member of the Women’s Leadership Institute program planning committee, and as Co-Founder of the Women’s Leadership Council. 

Board of Directors Elected to a Second Term 

  • Jennifer L. Evans
  • Robert A. Gerberry
  • Gelvina R. Stevenson

At-Large Nominating Committee Members 

  • Robert A. Gerberry, Summa Health System, Akron, OH 
  • Albert (Chip) D. Hutzler, HORNE, Fort Lauderdale, FL 

Fellows Class

  • James (Jim) W. Boswell III, King & Spaulding, Atlanta, GA
  • Lisa A. Hathaway, Aetna Inc, Jacksonville, FL
  • Elizabeth E. Hogue, Elizabeth E. Hogue LLC, Washington, DC
  • Kenneth (Ken) R. Marcus, Honigman LLP, Detroit, MI
  • Myra C. Selby, Ice Miller LLP, Indianapolis, IN
  • Toby G. Singer, Chevy Chase, MD
  • Eric Zimmerman, McDermott Will & Emery LLP, Washington, DC

A Special Thank You

AHLA thanks the following members of the Nominating Committee for their time, energy, and dedication to the nominating process:

  • Cynthia Y. Reisz, Chair
  • S. Craig Holden
  • Amy S. Leopard
  • Patricia A. Markus
  • Robert R. Niccolini
  • Annie Hsu Shieh
  • Thomas N. Shorter

And to AHLA's President-Elect, Thomas N. Shorter, for his tireless work on leadership appointments for fiscal year 2023.