Skip to Main Content

AHLA Announces Matthew Wetzel as the 2023 Patricia T. Meador Award Recipient

  • September, 27, 2023

Washington, D.C. - AHLA recently announced Matthew Wetzel as the 2023 Patricia T. Meador Award Recipient after three years of outstanding service as a practice group leader. 

Wetzel is a partner at Goodwin Procter LLP's Life Sciences Regulatory & Compliance team, with a wealth of experience in complex health laws and regulations. He co-leads the firm’s Medtech and Late Stage Drug Development practices and contributes as an expert to the Washington Legal Foundation. Matt holds a BA and JD from Georgetown University and resides in downtown DC. 

“Matt is such a positive contributor within AHLA and across the health care industry.  His character, competence, creativity, and inclusiveness were always on display during the time he led our practice group” said Joe Wolfe, Shareholder and Practice Group Leader at Hall Render. “He is admired by so many for his kind nature and for his commitment to mentoring and educating others.” 

The Patricia Meador Leadership Award, named in memory of AHLA Fellow Patricia T. Meador, serves as a lasting tribute to her remarkable contributions and leadership in health law. This prestigious award is designed to recognize volunteers who have exhibited extraordinary commitment and dedication to AHLA's education and mentoring initiatives. 

“The list of past recipients of the Meador award is a who’s who of health law giants who taught me and countless others what a special profession health law is and can be.  I’m honored to be included on the same list as so many lawyers I admire and respect, including several of my own mentors.  Volunteering for and contributing to AHLA’s educational mission has been a critical part of my legal career, and it’s a true pleasure to continue supporting the Association’s work for years to come.”   

The Patricia T. Meador Award was officially presented to Matt at the AHLA Fraud and Compliance Forum, September [Event Date]. This event brought together leading experts in health law and compliance, providing the perfect platform to celebrate Matt's achievements. 

For more information about the Patricia T. Meador Award and to see award recipients, please click here.