Skip to Main Content
Awards and Recognition

IDEA Champion Award Eligibility Requirements

The IDEA Champion Award is given to an individual who demonstrates commitment to advancing inclusion, diversity, equity, and accessibility (IDEA) in AHLA and the health law profession.  

+IDEA Champion Award Recipient

Award Nomination Criteria:   

  • Actively promotes IDEA in the health law profession 
  • Improves IDEA among underserved populations or health care systems
  • Uses their commitment to IDEA to positively impact individuals and organizations
  • Encourages and embraces the participation of diverse individuals in the health law community
  • Advocates for innovative approaches and best practices to ensure that IDEA is practiced in the health law profession
  • Inspires leaders to adopt IDEA principles into their organizational structure 
  • Advances AHLA’s Statement of Commitment to IDEA  

Nomination process  

Anyone may nominate candidates and self-nominations are accepted. An individual appointed to serve on the judging panel is not eligible to be considered for the Award while they serve on the panel. Past winners and current Board members are not eligible to receive the award.

Judging Panel   

A dedicated judging panel composed of three to seven AHLA members will be selected. Those serving on the panel must be available for a specified term of service, with the expectation that they will commit time to review and score applications; participate in one or more virtual meetings to review the entries and scores; and reach consensus on the recommended winner. Members will be required to disclose any potential conflict of interest in serving as a potential judge and will only be able to serve on a single panel at any given time. 

Diversity and Inclusion Fund

Provide resources and training to cultivate diverse membership at all levels of AHLA. Your support helps grow future leaders, enhances inclusivity, and ensures a wide range of perspectives within our association.

Learn More